QotD: “I am done coddling men”

Well of course good intentions don’t erase harm, but at least they’re here, aren’t they ? They’re here and they’re slowly helping and that’s something and that’s a beginning, and that’s, I think, what you fail to understand. Of course shit can’t be solved in a second.

What you fail to understand is that I am done coddling men and handing out participation medals and “good job!” ribbons for meeting basic standards of human decency. I am done holding men to a lower standard of analysis and discourse and acting like it’s beyond their comprehension or ability to figure out why they hurt us even when they try to help us. Men are always ranting and raving at feminists that they’re not all like that, that they’re mostly decent, that they care, that they’re smart, that they want to help, but as soon as we tell them that they’re NOT helping and explain to them why and hold them to the same standards we hold ourselves, we’re evil ungrateful cunts who are literally worse than nazis and bigots because we don’t “appreciate” that they’re trying to help us up with one hand and punching us in the face with the other.

I am done.

Next Years Girl

8 responses

  1. Hell yeah! I’m sick of that as well. I’m sick of: “He’s soooo good.. He even changes his baby’s diapers, he helps her a lot”. Wtf? No more medals for everyday, normal stuff that we do everyday without even thinking about it.

  2. Reblogged this on Gold Guns Girls and commented:
    I’m done too. Can’t even bring myself to appreciate any effort anymore. Because at the end of the day, men will never truly understand until we invent the walk in my shoes for a mile machine. I’m so done too.

  3. I’m in love with you now. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve said that and I damn well mean it.

  4. Oh, but do you mean you’re in love with Next Years Girl? 😦

    I think she’s pretty amazing too!

  5. Aw, no more ribbons for meeting basic standards of decency? I missed out.

  6. All I can say is, wow.

    This post has really opened my eyes to the sexism ingrained in society. It’s so rampant that people interpret any attempt to fight against it as a personal attack.

Leave a Reply

