QotD: “Of the many things I am eternally grateful for, one of them is that I didn’t get seriously into feminism early enough to consider majoring in women’s studies”

Anonymous: I’m pretty gender critical, but I’ve noticed that that’s something that’s actually not common even in gender studies/women’s studies depts in the universities I’ve studied at. I can’t figure out why – it seems like if you study these things seriously, you’d be critical. But it seems like a lot of programs are really dominated by libfem ideology, which makes me wonder if my being radfem is based on missing important information. Wondering if you have insight.

It’s because most women’s studies departments have instead become gender studies departments, and in doing so and embracing post-modern, capitalist, third-wave feminism have sacrificed gender critique for a kind of feminism that has given up sociopolitical analysis in favor of meaningless inclusion. I don’t think you’re missing information, I think everyone else has realized it’s a lot more fun being a feminist if the boys all like what you’re doing and you don’t actually have to change or examine your preferences or behaviors.


Next Years Girl

hevynly: Just a comment on the state of gender/women’s studies departments, yesterday in my women’s studies class the professor made a joke about a male news reporter having a Freudian connection between guns and penises and then later sent out an email to everyone apologizing for being transphobic. I assume it’s because one of my classmates talked to her about it after class but it’s very clear that being gender inclusive has overtaken serious feminist analysis.

Of the many things I am eternally grateful for, one of them is that I didn’t get seriously into feminism early enough to consider majoring in women’s studies so I never had to deal with this shit.

Next Years Girl

One response

  1. […] cannot imagine how difficult it must be to be a young woman at university today. You will be told that you don’t exist, that female biology (the root of female oppression) […]

Leave a Reply

