QotD: “Radical feminist critique of patriarchy has practically been silenced in our culture”

Radical feminist critique of patriarchy has practically been silenced in our culture. It has become a subcultural discourse available only to well-educated elites. Even in those circles, using the word “patriarchy” is regarded as passé. Often in my lectures when I use the phrase “imperialist white-supremacist capitalist patriarchy” to describe our nation’s political system, audiences laugh. No one has ever explained why accurately naming this system is funny. The laughter is itself a weapon of patriarchal terrorism. It functions as a disclaimer, discounting the significance of what is being named. It suggests that the words themselves are problematic and not the system they describe. I interpret this laughter as the audience’s way of showing discomfort with being asked to ally themselves with an antipatriarchal disobedient critique. This laughter reminds me that if I dare to challenge patriarchy openly, I risk not being taken seriously.

bell hooks, Understanding Patriarchy

(Found at the Bewilderness)

3 responses

  1. Would you recommend this book as an entry into bell hooks’ work?

  2. It’s not one of hers I’ve read. Feminism is for Everybody is actually a good introductory book (even if it does stray into liberal feminism), and the only other book by her I’ve read is Outlaw Culture , which is good, but if I recall correctly includes some stupid things about ‘sex radicals’ and about how BDSM is different when its practiced by lesbians. I own Feminist Theory From Margin to Centre, but haven’t read it yet.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.